The Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders (Princess Louise's)

'Sans Peur'       Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders red and white dicing       'Ne Obliviscaris'

History of the Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders

Major Events in the Evolution of the Regiment

The Regiment has undergone many changes of name, structural organisation and complement in its 245 year history.

  • In war time it expanded to as many as 27 Battalions.
  • At one time it contracted in strength to a single Company
  • at another time it faced extinction

Through all of these organisational changes and political pressures, the Regiment has survived.

It is still proudly playing an effective role in the service of our country.

Historical List of Regiments

Here is a chronological list of the major events in the history of each of the Regiments from which the present day Regiment has been created.
  1. 93rd Regiment of Foot - 1760 to 1797

  2. 74th Regiment of Foot (Argyleshire Highlanders) - 1777 to 1784

  3. 98th (Argyllshire Highlanders) Regiment of Foot - 1794 to 1796

  4. 91st (Argyllshire Highlanders) Regiment of Foot - 1796 to 1881

  5. 93rd (Highland) Regiment of Foot - 1799 to 1882

  6. 93rd Sutherland Highlanders - 1799 to 1882

  7. 1st Battalion, The Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders (Princess Louise's)

  8. All Battalions during WW1 - 1914 to 1918

Click here to send details if any of the information in the historical lists is incorrect or if it requires updating.

Design by IT-SERVE © 1999 - 2021 All Rights Reserved Back to Top