The Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders (Princess Louise's)

'Sans Peur'       Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders red and white dicing       'Ne Obliviscaris'

History - 1881 to 1899
1st Battalion Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders

Click for details of all Battalions formed during WW1





1881  as a result of the amalgamation of the 91st (Princess Louise's) Argyllshire Highlanders with the 93rd (Highland) Regiment of Foot, the new Regiment was named the 1st Battalion, The Princess Louise's (Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders)
1883South AfricaNatalpeace keeping in the Province of Natal after the Zulu War
1885Island of CeylonIndian Oceanin 1802 Ceylon became a British Crown Colony as a result of the Treaty of Amiens with France
1886Hong Kongsouthern coast of China 
1899South Africa fought in South Africa war of 1899-1902 under Lord Methuen at the battle of Modder River. Formed part of the 3rd Highland Brigade, was active in the attack on the Boers at Magersfontein. The 3rd and 4th Battalions (Militia) also served in South Africa.

Design by IT-SERVE © 1999 - 2021 All Rights Reserved Back to Top